I want to make Him happy.

John 8:28-29 So Jesus said, “When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am He, and I do nothing on My own initiative, but I speak these things as the Father taught Me. “And He who sent Me is with Me;He has not left Me alone, for I always do the things that are pleasing to Him.

I am having a hard time starting this post. I actually started it a week ago and then just ended up scratching it. This week has been really hard on me, emotionally and physically. Fist off I ended up getting a weird cold that sends me into the aches and every time I lay down to sleep, I am so uncomfortable, sleep never comes. So now I am not getting enough sleep to deal with my day, or get better.

Work has  also been especially hard. When I started to work for my Father at Showcase Kitchens and Baths at the age of 21, my goal was to be the best assistant he ever had. Not because I wanted to be good at my job, but because it would make him happier and he would enjoy work more. If I could be the best assistant ever it would benefit everyone involved. Well thankfully I think I have done that. Dad would say I have almost become him, or at least able to do what he does. I love my job. I love helping my father, I love creating, I love the paperwork, I love crunching the numbers, I love drawing, I love meeting with clients, I love almost everything about my job. Unfortunately, playing such a a large roll in our Team puts a lot of pressure on Dad and Dawn, Charlie’s other assistant, when I leave. And now thinking of leaving for a month or even permanently is killing me. All I want to do is get all of the details in order. I desperately want to pass on to Charlie and Dawn jobs that will be perfectly in order with no questions. My goal: to make Dad happy, the client happy, and the supervisor happy. Not a bad goal.

John 14:15,21 “If you love me you will obey what I command.Whoever has my commands and obeys them,he is the one who loves me. He who is loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him”

But this “good” goal is why I have been so miserable these last few days. As things come up like; last minute appointments, phone calls, walk-ins, and even needing to eat lunch, I get angry or even hurt. Why? Because they are hindering my goal. But, I have learned that my first goal should not be to make Dad happy or to make his life easier, but to please the Lord in everything that I do.  If I keep this as my first goal, then things like last minute meetings are not going to have the result of anger in my life. They are going to be opportunities for me to show my faith in God. He knew these meetings were going to come up, He wants to see me obey his word to put off anger and put on love and faith.

Psalm 139:23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting

So now that I know what my fist goal is, as my second goal gets pushed around, I have peace, and oh man do I need some peace right now! Am I still trying to hand off the perfect job packs to my Supervisor and Dad, you know it. That is not a wrong thing to want. I just have to do it while pleasing the Lord in all that I do. Now, when I do not get it all put together, I can relax, God is in charge, and I was successful in my most important goal. Now that makes for a better day no matter how long or physically tiring it was.

Isaiah 26:3-4 You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD, the LORD himself, is the Rock eternal

Dad and I on our way to another home in need.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I want to make Him happy.

  1. LAura Cross

    I appreciate your honesty. One thing I find myself fighting frequently is not trusting Him in the daily battles when I feel like I should be able to do it on my own because He has supplied me with particular gifts or strengths. The lie I fall for is success or failure lies with me if I don’t accomplice the task. The small, easy task are the hardest since it can easily allow me to become puffed up instead of looking up to Jesus. Thank you for reminding me it is daily dependence on Him in all things!! That is being successful. Proverbs 3:5-7

  2. mom

    Kathleen this post is so powerful. It is so true, when we lose focus we lose sight of what is really important… pleasing/glorifying God.

    Thank you for sharing your heart with us.

Leave a Reply

