We are a GO!

We are on our way to the hospital.

Good news! Today’s retrieval was successful! After waiting in the waiting room for about an hour and a half Dr. Supreea came out to tell me the good news, “The retrieval was successful!”  She said that Gregg was still sleeping and that they had not been able to tell him yet about the success. They did try to aspirate the main tube, but that did not work. So they moved on to using the needle for tissue recovery. They later told us that they have 12 tubes of tissue recovered. They found enough sperm to have big smiles on their faces. It was fun to see how excited they were for us. They will freeze what they have and defrost them on the day of my egg retrieval. If they are still mobile, or at least enough of them are, then they will use those. If not, they will do surgery again that day. We will wait on the Lord to see if that has to happen or not.

Lana Hospital

This hospital experience was very interesting, in a good way. Things are definitely different here. Everything went so much quicker. When we got to the hospital we only had to fill out a half sheet of paper! They took Gregg’s weight, blood pressure, and oxygen level right at the desk in the waiting room. Then they took us up to the operating room.  I sat right outside to wait.  After changing into a gown, well more like a robe, Gregg  proceeded to the OR room where he was to have the procedure. He later told me  that the room was cleaner then most the O.R.’s he’s seen in the states.

Gregg getting ready to enter the Operating Room.

While I was waiting for Gregg to come out I was trying not to think about what they were doing to poor Gregg. I tried to pray prayers of thankfulness based on truth. To be honest, in my own mind I think that if we were never able to have kids, that would be the most glorifying to God. You know that classic woman getting up to speak about her immense desire to have children and they way that God healed her heart. But I can say truthfully that there has been an amazing thing that has happened in my heart. I am truly thankful for our infertility. It has brought us so close to God. I really have come to focus on the fact that this life is so small, so short. And that in relation to eternity, this time is nothing but a speck.

Waiting Room.

God created us for His pleasure and His glory! The time we have here is for “gathering glory” or storing up treasures in heaven to the glory of  God. When I get to heaven i want as many of my thoughts and actions from here on earth to  have brought him glory.  I want my  actions and thoughts that please Him because this is what He created me for.  It is the reason I exist!  

Revelation 4:11 “You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.”

This perspective has truly given me the peace that passes all human understanding. As a matter of fact when Gregg and I were going to the hospital this morning, it was like we were all alone in this surreal moment. God was so in charge, it was almost fun just being in Him.

Gregg is doing good!

If God’s plan is for us to never have kids, I rest in that. And not only do I rest in it, I have joy in that! God is so so amazing! He knows I’ve wanted kids more then anything, he knows we still want a family, he knows we are here in Thailand.  He is so intimately here with us, teaching us, loving us. LOVING US! He does! Oh man!!! I am so excited about what God is doing in our lives. So sorry for the rambling, but I just want to scream from the roof tops how amazing God is. Not that he gave us sperm today, although that is also very exciting, but that he loves us enough to teach us and guide us! I pray that God brings things into your life that bring you to these understandings more then you have now. God knows how and what we need to grow, infertility was ours, I don’t know what God is going to use in your life, but keep a look out. He is working.

The journey continues!

I don’t know if you are following my ramblings, but basically what i am saying is, “I choose infertility.”  If I had to choose between having kids and learning what I have been learning about God through this journey of infertility… “I choose infertility!”   I choose knowing God more intimately!  Like when Job said:

Job  42 : 5 “My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you.”

He had heard about God, but now he knew Him more intimately!  I understand more what he meant.  It came through suffering.

I had to capture my excitement after the Doc told me the good news. 😛

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “We are a GO!

  1. YEAH!!! We are so excited for you. I am so so so glad that God knew you were worthy enough for this journey. He knew you could handle it and benefit from it! I love the thought that God chooses us for hardships because He loves us so much and he believes we are mature enough to handle them and take from it what He is wanting to teach! I love you so much and I get shivers each time I read your posts! We are so excited for you and cant wait to keep following the journey with you and God! We are so proud of you both! =)

    • Thanks Debra Lynn. I am so blessed that we have internet and can talk to you guys. I know it is silly but I feel a lot closer to you here. Maybe it is because we are up for more of the day together, or because I am off work and more available. Either way, I love it!

  2. One prayer answered and only one left. You have so many people that are on our knees with you in this. Thank you for blessing all of us with your journey and sharing in how God is working in your lives.

    Kristen

  3. Caral from SoCal

    It is not the greatest satisfaction in life, to be able to just be excited to see where God is taking you? The thrill of watching your journey is awesome! What a privilege to see you both walk along the path He has laid out, to walk in the works He has prepared for you (Eph 2:10). I truly believe, and have experienced, that your faithfulness in abiding in Him in the small things has prepared you for this greater walk…which will prepare you for all that is yet ahead. This life is an adventure, when you’re walking with Jesus! Soooo excited for you both, and praying that Gregg does not have discomfort.

  4. Mom

    Caral from SoCal right on! Faithful in the little helps us to be faithful in the “much!” I love it when people are excited about what God is doing! And what a glorious gift that Gregg doesn’t have discomfort… AMAZING!!

    Kathleen, thank you for sharing your journey so our faith can increase along with yours! There is no great gift then the increasing of our faith in God!

    Love you….

  5. Mom

    Debra – I love you… I love that Kathleen has a sister like you to love and encourage her in the things of the Lord! You are a precious woman of God and a blessing! I love you sooooo much. I can’t wait for you to come home so I can hug my grand boys! Mom

Leave a Reply

