Meeting our “Bubbles” for the first time.

Yesterday was one of those days that I would definitely describe as surreal. It almost does not seam real. I don’t feel any different, so maybe it was just a dream, it sure feels like a dream.

Excited to be heading to the hospital.

Yesterday started off with a feeling of excitement. As a matter of fact we were so excited that we forgot the paperwork we needed to give to the hospital receptionist so that they would know why I was there! Then as soon as we got to the hospital we realized that we also forgot my ID and my hospital card. Seeing that it was time for me to be there, Gregg dropped me off and headed back to the hotel again.  I was pleasantly surprised when they did not need to see my ID or any paperwork. I think they were able to see my name on the schedule. So they sent me over to the nurse for weight, temperature, and blood pressure. This is done in a separate part of the waiting room, so I was still where Gregg could find me when he eventually got back.

After waiting for about 30 minutes Gregg and I were taken up to the OR. This part of the IVF routine has become quite familiar to us. Gregg took a seat in the hallway waiting room as I was taken back to the locker room to change. Then just as they had done before, I was walked back to the operating room. Although this time the OR was completely empty. I was told that the Dr was on his way but not here yet. Dr. Supreeya had to go to a funeral in Bangkok and had told us this ahead of time, so I knew I would have a different doctor for the actual transfer. Even though the Dr was not there and I was, they got me all ready. About 30 minutes later I was getting quite anxious to get off that table. Not because I was anxious about the embryo transfer but because I had to use the restroom! Oh man, this was feeling quite uncomfortable. So I prayed and asked God to please empty my bladder or bring the nurse in so that I could tell her I needed to use the restroom. As soon as I said Amen, and I mean at that very moment, a nurse walked in and asked me if I needed to use the restroom! What a direct and immediate answer to my prayer!

As soon as the nurse and I got back to the OR a second nurse told us that the doctor would be in in about 5 minutes. So they got me up on the table again, put a large curtain up so that I could not see, and put a heart monitor on me. Then the Doctor arrived. I was so excited to meet him, you could tell because the heart monitor was beeping loudly throughout the whole room. The first thing he did was introduce himself, and then he showed me the most amazing photos. He showed me photos of the three precious souls that were ours. I will never forget this moment. He told me that the embryos looked good. They were at least 9 equal cells, this was great news. He then walked me through all that he was going to be doing. He showed me the large incubator that had a large microscope that he would use to see the embryos once they were brought in. My heart fluttered, this was happening, I was going to see our babies right there! So close! Then he told me that once he had me ready to receive the babies they would turn off the light as they brought in the embryos. And the lights would not turn on again until after they were in my womb. I will admit, I loved the dramatic effect it had.

 

Our three "Bubbles".

When the lights did turn off my heart started to beat a bit faster, there they were. I watched the nurse come in holding a small box, a very important small box. The Doctor then got up to gather the embryos and then with in minutes we were done. I had life in me. I prayed. I prayed with thankfulness for all that God had done to get us here. I prayed and thanked him for the things that he was going to be doing in my life and in the lives of my family. And I prayed for these lives, that we would be able to meet each of them.

After an hour laying in the O.R. after the transfer a nurse came and moved me to a new bed. I will admit, I was quite distracted by this point by my aching back. After the laying on the OR bed for just about 2 hours and then being moved to an even harder bed, by back was killing me. I was hoping they would let me go home soon. I know laying down is good, but this pain is not.

I was listening to the nurse. Ready to get off this bed.


Can you see the smile? It is there!

Luckily they went and got Gregg to come sit by my side,  I was so excited to see him. I wish he could have been by my side to see all that I had but at least I did have some photos to show him. It was like showing him a pregnancy test, I loved it! But this sweet moment did not last, I had to get off this bed! Gregg was able to get a nurse who was able to help me out of the bed and back to the locker room.

I was so blessed to see later what Gregg had been posting on Facebook while he waited. Here are some photos and his posts from his time in the OR hallway:

“Philippians 3:7-8  But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ.  Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ”

Waiting.

“Philippians 4:6-7 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

View down the hall.

Gregg Bowcock is: Sitting here in Thailand at the hospital while little microscopic babies of mine are being implanted into my wife…I am amazed at Gods love and how he chose this for our life and our childrens lives. Thank you God for the technology to do this!

Waiting hallway chairs.

Once we got home I rested in bed all day. It was such a weird feeling to feel so normal and yet know that things inside my body were so different from just a few hours before. Gregg has been taking such good care of me, it is such a blessing to have a husband who is willing to do the small things to make me more comfortable. I love how any time I am sad or even look sad or anxious, he is there to guide me to truth and hold my hand.

“Thank you Father for the lives that you brought into our lives today. Thank you for your Power and for letting us know just how powerful you are. Thank you for bringing Gregg and I this far. Thank you for the hands that took care of our babies. Thank you for the lives that you created. I pray that you will help to to keep my mind focused on you, focused on your truth. You are the one in charge of these lives, thank you for that. I love you.”

Gregg and i went to the zoo and visited the Stork. Actually a lot of them. It was fun!

Thank you for all of you prayers and encouraging verses that you have sent over the last few days. They have been an immeasurable blessing to the both of us.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Meeting our “Bubbles” for the first time.

  1. Mom

    What an amazing miracle! What an amazing God. How beautiful your words are as you give testimony to us of what He is doing in your life! Thank you Kathleen! Love to Gregg!

    Mom

  2. Linda Rosengren

    And now we continue to pray for you guys and for these three little bubbles which are living souls! 🙂

  3. Deborah Alcorn

    I saw some balloons today while I was driving and they made me think of “bubbles” – so I sent up a prayer. See, I told you I pray for you at random times. Something will just make me think of you guys, and up a prayer goes. I am excited to hear all about your journey with these little lives.

  4. Laura

    This is just so amazing. And people say there isn’t a God? Wow. I am so blessed to be a part (a praying part) of your journey! And I look forward to the next part too. May the Lord continue to grow your little bubbles.

  5. Cortney

    Thank you for sharing your journey. I’m loving the Lord more because of it.

  6. Corinne

    Kathleen! Your little bubbles are precious! Such an exciting journey God’s taking you on, and what an amazing witness you are! I’ve been checking eagerly almost everyday to see how things are progressing for you guys. Thank you for sharing this way – its been really encouraging in my faith.
    Love, Corinne

  7. Brian and Evie

    We are praying for you and your little ones that the Lord grows them well and healthy. We are so excited for you! God is SO good!

  8. I love reading your blog, thank you for sharing.

  9. Joy Andleman

    I love reading your post. May the Lord bless you and these babies inside your body. I can’t wait to see your little ones.

  10. Chris

    Word……Looking forward to your return home!

  11. Caral from SoCal

    You have the cutest little bubbles EVER…each one a precious soul, each one an individual already. I just cannot get Psalm 139 out of my head, “You knit me together in my mother’s womb…” how incredibly exciting that you got to see the very beginning of the knitting!! Everything they need is already there, they just have to grow. HUGS!!

  12. Chace Unruh

    Wow, I just finished reading your blog. I am tearful, joyous, and so captivated to see how God is working in your lives. I love reading about the love you both have for each other and the Lord. I continue to pray for you both each day. Thank you for sharing this precious moment in your lives.

    • Thanks chase I truly wish we lived closer than a hour drive away from you. We miss your care and friendship and miss being a part of your life. Thanks for the prayers and we hope to see you again soon.

      G & K

  13. Kiki Jongewaard

    Incredible news. Thank you for documenting this so well and including God as such a huge part of your journey. I’m so eager to hear how things turn out. Hugging all 5 of you!
    ~Kiki

  14. Thank you for blessing me with your experience…..for showing God working in such an intimate and personal way. You have a true gift for words and God is using that on this blog and through facebook.

    Praying for your babies now…

Leave a Reply

