The waiting is half way done.

It has been been 6 days since the transfer and 9 days as a mother. I know that we do not have any children that can sleep in our arms, but we do have children! It has to be one of the weirdest feelings for a woman to know that she has life, lives living in her and yet is not considered a mother or even pregnant. I went on a web site the other day to see if they would show me the stages of growth of the embryos from day 1 until pregnancy. They told me that I was not pregnant, that the due date was to early. I laughed! I know now that I have lives in me, that is more than the average woman knows at this stage.

Well lucky for me, my wonderful mother was able to find the stages of development for me. I love that I can depend on her for research! I decided years ago not to read blogs of others who were struggling with fertility. They are usually dealing with really hard things and often have a hard time looking to Truth. I know that bogs are like diary’s, I definitely use this blog in the same fashion, but to set my self up for success, I decided to stay away from them. Unfortunately I usually just end up feeling depressed and scared after reading most infertility blogs.  I know they can be really helpful for others, just not for me. That is why I am so blessed by the time my mom puts in reading up on facts for me.

Here are the stages that the babies go through day by day. Thanks Mom for personalizing it for me!

1dpt ..embryo is growing and developing  Feb 27th
2dpt… Embryo is now a blastocyst  Feb 28th
3dpt….Blastocyst hatches out of shell on this day  March  1
4dpt.. Blastocyst attaches to a site on the uterine lining  March  2  -possible spotting and cramping for the next couple days or so.
5dpt.. Implantation begins,as the blastocyst begins to bury in the lining  March  3
6dpt.. Implantation process continues and morula buries deeper in the lining   March  4
7dpt.. Morula is completely inmplanted in the lining and has placenta cells & fetal cells   March  5
8dpt…Placenta cells begin to secret HCG in the blood   March  6
9dpt…More HCG is produced as fetus develops   March  7
10dpt…More HCG is produced as fetus develops   March  8 You arrive at LAX!
11dpt…HCG levels are now high enough to be immediately detected on HPT   March 9

I have been blessed by the fact that we are here in Thailand, far from home during this time. Why? Because I have only time here, no responsibilities at all! So I rest, a lot! It has been so wonderful to have Gregg here to help me with any thing I desire. Lucky for me he really enjoys driving around Chiang Mai, so sending him for McDonald’s across town he is more than willing.
We were really blessed this week with the opportunity to visit with a friend of Gregg’s who was in town from China. But this was not just any friend, is was Sean Arvin. Sean and his wife Nicole were home for a visit a few years ago and meet up with Gregg at a wedding. It was at this wedding that they shared with Gregg about how they had used IVF in Thailand to get pregnant with their son. This would have just been a interesting story except that he also found out that it cost less then five thousand dollars to do this. Gregg and I had done some research and had come to the realization that between IVF, ICSI, and the sperm retrieval we were going to have to pay over thirty thousand dollars. So this was a light at the end of a long tunnel. And that is why we are able to d IVF now, years before we would have been able to if we did it in the states.

So how have I been? Fine. Feel like I would normally. As a matter of fact there are times I can forget that I even have these lives in me, but not for long! I am definitely feeling some of the effects of the medications but not to bad. I am looking forward to getting home and getting back into somewhat of a normal routine. Of course I am not going to be back to normal activity for a bit, but almost. The one thing I am really not looking forward to is avoiding large groups of people, but getting sick would be a really bad thing at this point.

We leave Chiang Mai this Monday, we head to Bangkok for the night then leave in the early morning for LA. We will arrive at LAX around 9:30am. So just in time to enjoy another beautiful California day, although I am secretly praying for a down pour as soon as we get home! I love rain and am so bummed we have missed so much beautiful winter weather.
Thank you again for your prayers and your encouraging words. We have loved all of the scripture especially, I can not tell you how much it has blessed me and truly helped me live a life with Eternity in mind. So thank you again, and keep them coming!

Verses for the day:

Psalm 31:  14 But I trust in you, LORD; I say, “You are my God.”
15 My times are in your hands; deliver me from the hands of my enemies, from those who pursue me.
16 Let your face shine on your servant; save me in your unfailing love. …
24 Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.

I love how in verse 15 it talks about the hands of my enemies.  For me my enemies are my thoughts – or thinking about IVF without the constant reminder of who God is in all of this and what His good purpose is.  So if I read too many blogs without the right focus it causes me to lose mine.  I need to keep my thoughts steadfast.  Part of that is being careful with what I read.

Proverbs 4:  23 Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.

This is the exact same type of crib that my parents used for all three of us girls. I am next in lne to use it. I can't wait!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The waiting is half way done.

  1. My mom had that same crib for my sister! It’s called a Jenny Lind (Jenny Lind was a Hungarian opera singer…I used to sell cribs, I think I know far too much about them. LOL)

  2. It’s interesting to me reading this post because I just realized I blogged on a very similar subject the other day. I also do not read diabetes related blogs or message boards because of the lack of faith I see…anyway, it just leaves me downtrodden to read them.

  3. Mom

    Kathleen I love walking with you through this. God gives His children trials so that they can demonstrate to the world that life is different when you face it with God and with truth! You are a perfect demonstration of that, not by your power but because of the power of truth.

    John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

    I know without a doubt that if you don’t end up getting pregnant that you will be sad but ultimately you would be at peace because there is a higher purpose to your life then being a mommy, even then being a wife and that is to please God. That means you think right about God and walk in obedience. I love you so much.

    Always and forever your mommy I’ll be!

  4. Kiki Jongewaard

    GREAT update! I loved the breakdown of what’s happening inside you right now. SO fascinating! Way to go, Aunt Tami 🙂 I have your blog saved to my toolbar for quick access…I look forward to your upcoming updates. Hugging you!
    ~Kiki

  5. Caral from SoCal

    I must confess that I had done a little research, too – it has been too many years since my nursing school days – to see “what was up” each day. I love the idea of implantation – to me it seems like snuggling in for the long ride. It also reminds me of what you are doing with GOD…you are snuggling in to His word, snuggling in to His truth, snuggling in to His love and perfect plan for you. You are getting ready for the long ride HE has in mind for you.

    You are wise to guard you mind – aren’t we told to guard our hearts and minds in Christ Jesus? I find the same – it is not beneficial to my walk with the Lord to allow too much access to the enemy, even if the enemy comes cloaked in harmless sheep’s clothing. Bless you guys!
    HUGS!!
    Cara

Leave a Reply

