Waiting

Waiting has to be one the of the hardest things that God asks us to do. And when we love the Lord, we know we are supposed to wait with patience, peace, and trust. It is hard not be anxious. I keep thinking “Is God going to take our baby? Is he going to heal our baby?”.

I have to focus on truth more than ever while I am in this time of waiting, It is the only thing that will truly sustain me.

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6 in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight

Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Proverbs 30:55 “Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him”.

Philippians 4:4-7  Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Psalm 92:5  How great are your works, LORD, how profound your thoughts!

Psalm 91:4 He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

Isaiah 41:10  So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 84:10-12 10 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked. 11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.12 LORD Almighty, blessed is the one who trusts in you.

2 Corinthians 12:9 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Psalm 119:89-93 Your word, LORD, is eternal; it stands firm in the heavens. 90 Your faithfulness continues through all generations; you established the earth, and it endures. 91 Your laws endure to this day, for all things serve you. 92 If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction. 93 I will never forget your precepts, for by them you have preserved my life.

Psalm 62:1-2 Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him. 2 Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

These verses and many others is where I find comfort. Knowing more about the God who created us and loves is always a good thing, but in times of pain, they are even more of value. I would say that today has been one of the hardest days of my life. It would be so easy to let my thoughts go to places that are not profitable. It is a huge struggle, but knowing that keeping my mind focused on the truths from Scripture has truly rescued me from a dark place. I am in a sad place, but a place of rest and comfort. That only comes from scripture. No matter what the outcome, death or life, I trust in my loving Father.

“Thank you Father for comforting me in my sadness. Thank you for being trustworthy. Thank you for loving me. I surrender this life to you Father. I love you”


 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Waiting

  1. Mom

    Oh Kathleen my heart grieves that my precious daughter must suffer pain. If I had not walked through pain and sorrow myself and reaped the blessing God promises pain to bring I would lose my faith and walk away from Him at this moment. I can only bear the pain because I know the benefit is worth it.

    Pain without purpose is abuse and God is not abusive. I am so thankful for your faith. I couldn’t bear to watch you suffer without seeing His purpose and experiencing His comfort. That only leads to resentment, bitterness anger, fear and doubt.

    I love this from the NIV…

    Satan’s Plan

    DOUBT: He makes us question God’s word and goodness

    DISCOURAGEMENT: Makes us look @ our problems rather than at God

    DIVERSION: Makes the wrong things seem attractive so that we will want then more than the right things

    DEFEAT: Makes us feel like a failure so that we don’t even try

    DELAY: Make us put off doing something so that it never gets done.

    Good to know his plan so we don’t fall for it.

    God’s plan is always to benefit us!

    I love you Kathleen.

    Your mommy

  2. Caral from SoCal

    Some of my favorite “truths” for time of waiting and trouble…revisited in “the Book” version – not my fave for study, but sort of presents it in a new way that shocks my stubborn brain into hearing it all anew…

    1 Peter 5:7
    Let Him have all your worries and cares, for He is always thinking about you and watching everything that concerns you

    John 14:27
    I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart! And the peace I give isn’t fragile like the peace the world gives. So don’t be troubled or afraid.

    Psalms 32:7-9
    You are my hiding place from every storm of life; You even keep me from getting into trouble! You surround me with songs of victory. I will instruct you (says the Lord) and guide you along the best pathway for your life; I will advise you and watch your progress. Don’t be like a senseless horse or mule that has to have a bit in its mouth to keep it in line!

    Habakkuk 2:1, 3
    I will climb my watchtower now, and wait to see what answer God will give to my complaint. But these things I plan won’t happen right away. Slowly, steadily, surely, the time approaches when the vision will be fulfilled. If it seems slow, do not despair, for these things will surely come to pass. Just be patient! They will not be overdue a single day!

    Romans 8:24-25

    We are saved by trusting. And trusting means looking forward to getting something we don’t yet have – for a man who already has something doesn’t need to hope and trust that he will get it. But if we must keep trusting God for something that hasn’t happened yet, it teaches us to wait patiently and confidently.

Leave a Reply

