First Ultrasound

I was so nervous on Monday as Gregg and I were waiting to see the Dr. for our fist ultrasound. I asked Gregg to please read me scripture that would calm me down. I was having a hard time focusing on Truth. Gregg read to me on of my current favorite verses,

Philippians 4:4-9

4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.8 Finally, brothers and sisters,whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

It was amazing how I could go from being so nervous to feeling so much calmer just from Gregg reading me God’s words to us. Then again that is exactly what I have been seeing so obviously through this whole adventure, God’s word is so powerful!

Once we got in to ultrasound room i started to get so excited and also scared to death! What is he going to find? Well this is what he found!!!

 

Our Bubble!!!

 

A baby!!! Yup, It does not look like much, but it is our baby! We are thrilled!

I also know that it is not going to be easy from here. There is still a lot that God needs to teach us, and it may come in the form of health issues or the baby’s development. This does make me feel cautious to feel the full excitement, something could still go wrong. This is definitely the place I am now, confusing sometimes. But I do believe that I need to be willing to love this baby and then also be just as willing to give our Bubble to God. It is easier to protect myself, but if I do that then I am robbing the God the opportunity to work in my life in this area. Does that make sense?  I hope so.

We wonder.....

 

So now I am window shopping all over Etsy for cute baby things to celebrate this life that is growing in me. What a special time we are in. And Don’t get me wrong, we are SO very excited! I love it when Gregg tells me to take a break, not to pick something up that is a bit heavy, brings me a glass of water, and especially when he holds me and prays for our baby. It is a dream coming true, a true miracle.

 

Best Dr. Appointment ever! (so far!)

Best Dr. Appointment ever! (so far!)

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “First Ultrasound

  1. kelly drake

    this totally made me cry….and also was such a blessing to read….thanks for sharing…you are in my prayers!!!!

  2. Congratulations to the both of you!! How exciting! Praise be to the Lord most high! May this be a joyous time for you, one without fear! May God’s peace be with you for the entire 9 months!;-)

  3. Mom

    Kathleen, Your strength blows me away! It is so powerful to watch the raw power of God displayed as He wants it to be when His word is used. Trust and obey! It really works!
    Thank you for the love you show in delighting in and loving your child every step of the way! It isn’t as if love jinxes anything, you can’t “jinx” God’s plan! The only thing love does is open us up to more pain. Selfishly I want to protect myself from pain.
    I love knowing your little baby is growing in a bubble of love not fear!
    I love watching you grow in your faith. He always does what He promises but not always what we want.

    Your mom!

    Ephesians 1: 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, 21 far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every name that is invoked, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. 22 And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

  4. Mom

    P.S. Your guys are one gorgeous couple! Can’t wait to see what my grand baby looks like!

  5. I am so excited for you both! This journey has not only helped the two of you grow in Him but also ALL of us following your story! You have always had a heart for ministry and this is all part of it!

    A few years back my older girls memorized Phillipians 4:8 for their sunday school. In listening to them practice it over and over it was also ingrained in my mind and I think of it often. I love the way God uses situations to reach people not actually ‘in’ the original situation.

  6. Kathleen….I am sooooooo excited for you guys! I remember the first ultrasound with Joey …that first picture…Nick laughed at me because as we were leaving the doctor’s building there was some senior citizens standing by the door and I whispered to Nick “can I show them our baby?”….he laughed!!! I was just so excited and wanted the world to know that I had a baby in me! I am so blessed by your walk with the Lord! You go girl!!

  7. Laura

    Kathleen, you are having normal feelings. After having a miscarriage, many women are afraid to fully open themselves up to loving. What if this baby dies? What if there is something wrong? Ok. What if? Well, if the baby dies, God is still on the throne. What if something is wrong? God is still on the throne. He is faithful, He is trustworthy. You know these truths, you have been taught well. But, still they are normal feelings. I’m glad you are opening yourself up anyway! It is definitely the better option. I can NOT wait to see your precious baby.

  8. Abi

    Greg and Kathleen,
    We are so excited for you and the life that is growing inside of you! We are praying for you guys and baby Bowcock! Congratulations!!!

  9. Mary Panzer

    Praying for you to enjoy the moment. And even tho it’s just a littel dot, there oh, so much happening inside there! It’s all very amazing and exciting and awesome. God is good, down to the last little detail. May God just pour on the blessings as you walk through this time of waiting (advent) for your little one.

  10. Sarah (Kersey) Fairchild

    Hi Kathleen, I did not realize your story behind Thailand and had been emailing with Lauren (Pillips now Kappel–New Tribes Bible Institute) and then somehow heard you and your husband were on a journey for a baby and had to read the whole background from your blog…I was so moved time and time again and found such encouragement from your honest openess of the faith you have been learning and growing in. We are on a journey to adopt our baby boy in May and the past few months we have gone from absolute joy in doctor visits and ultrasounds with his birth mother to moments where I’m just so fearful and afraid to hope our dream could finally be coming true. God used your story to speak to me at the perfect time as I was wrestling through ‘what if’ scenarios and coming to a place of realization that there is far more going on here than a child that we have been waiting and praying for for three years now. It was a crossroads (one of many and certainly not the last!) where I again faced what my life was to be about. Ultimately my life is not about motherhood or family, it is about my Jesus, and either I trust Him in every step of this journey or I walk through it an anxious mess and miss out not only on the joy and hope He offers in the midst of it, but all that He has to show me right here, right now in this season. Whether our journey leads to a tiny bundle in my arms or not, I have a choice to trust, to praise, to thank, to believe His promises in His Word. Some days I don’t even realize I’ve let an anxious spirit seize my heart again and I have been loving His promise that He will bring the work He started in me to completion. 🙂 It is wonderful to me how trusting Him actually frees me to enjoy and be excited. The other week I got to video my husband putting together our crib and a wave of what if fear washed over me…what if our lawyers don’t get paperwork done in time, what if for some reason they tell us we don’t qualify, what if his first mom changes her mind, what if I come home from the hospital in May with no baby to lay in this bed, what if, what if, what if…and then God reached in and instead of what ifs I had wave after wave of thankfullness, of awe, of excitement. We were putting a crib together! Six months ago I never would have believed we would be putting a crib together for an answer to so many prayers! I’m learning this is not just our adoption journey, this is our life journey…not a bump in the road to get over and move past, but an important part of the road that is in many ways the point of our journey on Earth, if that makes sense. Anyhow, all of that to say I have been so uplifted and have been praying for you and your husband. I am so excited for your little one inside of you and eager to hear how God continues to move in your story. 🙂 Thank you for sharing it in such a real and honest way.

    • Mom

      Sarah, Your comment was such a blessing to read and so encouraging! You are so right when you said, “Ultimately my life is not about motherhood or family, it is about my Jesus,” Praying for you as you run your race. We pray with you for a child but agree, not our will but His be done in your life, for your good and His glory! Thank you for taking the time to write. I am so encouraged by you.

      Kathleen’s mom

      Philippians 3:8
      What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ

    • Oh Sarah! Thank you for sharing! I love hearing your heart. i can’t wait to see pictures of your precious baby! What a special day that will be!

Leave a Reply

