Surviving.

After a difficult day of Gregg being really sick it was time for bed. Although I could not wind down so I wrote our last post about Gregg being sick. Once I was done writing and adding photos I took a nice warm shower and headed to bed. But this mommy could not turn off her baby listening ears. Mac had seemed restless in his sleep and I was afraid this was because he was also getting sick. Finally at about 12:30 or so I fell asleep, finally. But at 2:00am both Gregg and I awoke to Mac dry heaving. I sprang out of bed with a crazy amount of adrenaline and a broken heart.

He had a look of confusion and shock on his face. This is the first time he has been sick with the flu and and it is not a sight any Mama wants to see. I took him into the bathroom for a nice long bath, well 5 baths and a shower. The sweet boy would be happy as ever playing with a toy in the water and then he would pause and throw up. Mac fell back to sleep around 4:00am. That was a long 2 hours for all of us.

Watching toons at 3:45am.

Once I was in bed I again had a hard time not listening and looking up at the baby video monitor every minute. After 10 minutes or so exhaustion took over me and I was asleep. Mac woke me up again at 6:30 trying to throw up. I grabbed him before he was able to get his special blankets dirty. The poor boy was miserable, absolutely miserable.  I got a nice warm bath ready and promptly put Mac in as this has always been a happy place for him as proven again last night with the hour long bath. He was very happy to be there and played with his toys like nothing was the matter.

Happy Boy. Sick Boy.

This happy and playful boy finally decided that it was time for some cartoons and a long cuddle with some towels and his blanket. I kept praying over his little body that he would find comfort soon and healing. I prayed for sleep for healing sleep. At about 11:00 he finally fell asleep in my arms while we watched toons. I laid him down and he slept a good hour and a half. I was thrilled to see that he had not stirred much.

Sleeping baby. Photo taken just be fore I laid him down for his 10:00 nap.

While Mac napped I took our laundry out to be washed and dried. I am so thankful that we found a great place that will have it done same day. This was actually the first time I had gone out walking in town on my own. It was nice to walk the familiar sidewalks of Neminhaimen.  

I was able to get Gatorade, juice, electrolytes for Mac, antibacterial wipes, bananas and a smoothie for Gregg and I.

The local grocery store. Well local to the hotel.

It’s always nice to have forks and spoons at the ready for your “back seat” passengers. @7-Eleven

I wonder if they can make a double double?

Salad Concept for some smoothies. I was the first customer of the day.

When I got back I was pleased to see that Gregg was able to drink over half of his smoothy. He seemed to be getting better. Thank You Lord! Please give him energy because mine is dwindling!

Once Mac woke up from his nap I played with him and tried to keep him happy and comfortable. I was pleased with the amount of liquid he was taking in and keeping down. Thank You Lord! The last thing I want is to have to take him to the hospital for dehydration. At about 2 Mac even asked for food! I hesitantly gave him a cracker  which he promptly scarfed down. He cried for more. I have him to more crackers figuring that if he was going to throw up again at least he would have something to throw up. He kept it all down and even seemed to be getting even better.

Happy Boy! Getting better!

Needles to say Mac is well and seems to have very little of this flu hanging on to him. Even Gregg was able to muster up enough strength to drive us the short drive to a local restaurant for dinner. I am exhausted. Our family has been through the ringer. I will tell you what it is hard being this sick at home, it is way worse when you have very very limited supplies. :-/ try having people throwing up with only 3 towels to your name!

Sweet boy.

I am so blessed that I know that this is the plan God has for me and my babies, all 5 of them 🙂 As I chatted with my mom through the night I was blessed by the fellowship we had together over such a sad situation this was for us. It was such a  blessing to know that I could focus on keeping my boys healthy and well and that the Lord would take care of my babies that rest inside of me.

Some of my favorite verses came to mind for me during the night. I love in Psalm 23  and how He shows us the love He has for us. So refreshing!

Psalm 23

A psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,[a]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.

Well I am going to sign off with a Thankful heart and pray that this night will me a healing and restful one for our family.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Surviving.

  1. Mom

    Well it is almost 1:00 a.m. your time. I pray that your whole family is getting sweet healing rest! I am so thankful that God knows what He is doing and that as your faith grows so does mine. See you Wednesday if all goes according to this new plan!

    Praying too that if God o wills you might get better seating on the plane for the long ride!

    Love you. Mom — Dad too of course.

  2. What a trial – we have been sick away from home, although NOT out of the country!. I can only imagine how difficult that must be. Praying healing rest for all of you, protection, God’s perfect peace and even JOY – yes JOY, even in this. Sleep well, Bowcock family, sleep well … (Because as I look as the clock, I know that’s what you should be doing right now!)

  3. Erin Torres

    Praying for quick healing for you all and rest for you in particular. I remember when rien was 13 months and got her first “sickie”. It’s actually such a good, sweet mommy memory of mine because i got to see new ways God has given me crazy instincts i didn’t know i had, and i got to have sweet cuddle times! But i can imagine the challenge of not being in your own home. Only 3 towels?!?!?! You are super woman!
    Love you all!

Leave a Reply

