Getting our moneys worth.

Today is day ten of medication and it will be our 6th visit to the Dr office.  It is so nice to know that they are monitoring me so closely making sure that I am on the correct medication and progressing like they want.  We really are getting our money’s worth! 1621986_10152273266129225_716987744_n

Yesterday I had blood drawn to check my levels of estrogen and such as well as an ultrasound to see how the eggs are growing.  The dr was pleased, considering that previous test showed that I would not produce very many eggs. This was why he went with the “Mini” IVF procedure.  Dr.B. showed us that I have a total of about six eggs. Three of them are nice and mature and three are a bit on the small side. He is see us again  this morning to do another ultrasound to see how they are doing. This appointment should give us a good idea of the retrieval date. It could be as soon as Friday!

The other thing that they are keeping an eye on is my uterin lining. You may remember a post called “The number 8” from our last trip to Thailand. Dr Supreya wanted my lining to be measuring at least .8cm. When Dr. B measured yesterday he said I was at .6 cm. This is thinner than they like to see for the a transfer of our babies. This is a side effect of the heavy doses of Clomid that I was on, so it is very common. He said that depending on how thick it gets over the next couple of days, he may recommend freezing the eggs and waiting until next month when I will not have to be on Clomid to proceed.

1555479_10152278197139225_1247326252_n

Last night Mac sat with me while I did my injections. I heard him chatting so I looked over to see him using a ball point pen to give himself a shot in the belly button. It made the whole process much easier knowing I had a partner. Silly boy.

There is a third and very important part that we are also waiting on God for, Sperm.  Its kinda a pretty important part of the equation. When Gregg and I went to Thailand the first time Gregg had a sperm retrieval surgery that produced enough for us to proceed with the IVF plan. This was a big deal because if that had not worked we would not have been able to do what we had gone for, to make babies!

Here is the post I wrote when we first got to Thailand in 2011. So cool to look back at what God was about to do!

This time around the Dr. believes from recent tests that Gregg will not have to do the surgery! This was really good news that we got a few months back. But they recently did another test and did not find any sperm so we have to do another sample to see what we find. If we do not get any today  there is a possibility that they will freeze my eggs and schedule a retrieval surgery.

It is such  blessing knowing that God is in control of how many eggs I have, what thickness my lining is, if we haver sperm this way or that. It takes the stress out of it! Who doesn’t want that? I love it! Life alone is stressful, add in fertility issues can often push us over the edge! With out Gods promises I would be one bitter, grouchy, sad, stressed out lady! Not only would it be hard for me to be around myself but my poor family would greatly suffer!  But instead because of Gods grace on me and the blessing of His ever true and faithful word I am a woman who experiences PEACE!!! I got to tell you, if you don’t have peace you should try it!!!

There have been a lot of verses that have been my go to over the years of fertility struggles. Today God brings this one to my mind.

1 The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
2     He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
3     he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
4 Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,[a]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6 Surely your goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.

Today will tell us a lot! I am excited to see what God has in store for us! It is not every day that we get to see so very clearly a plan that the Lord has for us. Today there are a few things that I can expect to see Gods desires in. So will we have a chance at a November baby or a December baby?  God knows!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Getting our moneys worth.

  1. Tami

    So beautiful Kathleen. What a sweet aroma this is to the Lord. Thank you so much! So excited to see what God’s plans are! I know He knows what we want, so thankful He always gives us what is BEST.

    Mom 🙂

Leave a comment